What are your memories of Aussie band Mental as Anything?

What are your memories of Aussie band Mental as Anything?

Reg Mombassa’s unique guitar playing where he looked like he was wrestling with the tremolo arm of his fender?

Greedy Smith’s flamboyant jackets and karate chop keyboard-playing style?

As you may guess from the name SentiMENTAL as Anything – I’m a big fan of “the Mentals”

Of course, I also liked the aloof coolness of The Church – but I always enjoyed the “silliness” of Mental as Anything

My friend Mark from law school introduced me to the unbridled joy of Mental as Anything.  Mark (who became a serious barrister) knew all the Mental’s lyrics and would chuckle about the art school Australiana of lyrics like “Cruising in Third looking for bird”.  He lent me his Mentals LPs and I was hooked!

Any party playlist had to include the Mental’s classic “The Nips Are Getting Bigger”. Bass players loved that song because it had a great bass line.

I got to meet Martin and Reg one night after one of their gigs and I tried to “be cool” and not gush too much. They seemed like just everyday guys – not taking life, music or themselves too seriously. Greedy wasn’t with them at the time. I think he was recovering from an injury.

To bring back memories – here’s an old clip that shows Reg’s guitar-playing style and Greedy’s karate chop keyboard style.

This post got me sentimental for the Mentals and I wanted to see what they are up to these days.

Martin and Greedy are still performing in The Mentals with new members. You can catch all the latest on this link.

http://www.mentals.com.au/

I follow Greedy on Twitter and I still find him amusing. Age has not constrained his quirkiness!

https://twitter.com/greedy_smith

Also, here is a link to a youtube clip of a 2003 performance that is amusing.

Martin is very cool and aloof while Greedy hams it up playing up to the camera and even doing star jumps.

To my Brisbane FBFs – anyone want to go see The Mentals when they are playing in Brisbane again.?

Let’s live it up!

3 thoughts on “What are your memories of Aussie band Mental as Anything?

  1. Mentals…..I did a few shows supporting them in the eighties…
    They could pull great crowds…I thought they were boring on stage….I think “Nips” is a fantastic song..they seem like nice guys and they are still going.

  2. I don’t even understand how I finished up right here,
    but I thought this submit was once good. I don’t recognize who you’re however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger in case you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

