What memories do Simon and Garfunkel songs bring back for you?

What memories do Simon & Garfunkel songs bring back for you?

I probably wouldn’t be where I am now if it hadn’t been for  Simon & Garfunkel.   I’d probably be a rich lawyer instead!

But no – thanks to Simon & Garfunkel (and my fantastic English teacher Mr Bishop) I fell in love with the power  and poetry of words  – and I left the law to become a political speechwriter, and journalist, and now a business writing coach and trainer.

Interestingly Paul Simon briefly studied law – but left to pursue his music. Mind you Simon & Garfunkel would have still sounded good as a firm of lawyers.

But I digress…

Mr Bishop played us Simon & Garfunkel records and would show us the beauty of he poetic devices in the lyrics – the alliteration, the imagery, and the metaphors.

In a deep and dark December

Freshly fallen silent shroud of snow

I am a rock I am an island

To be honest, back at school, even ‘though I learned to love most of their music, I thought some Simon & Garfunkel songs (like their cover of   El Condor Pasa) and Scarborough Fair  were very, very uncool – but I later appreciated these were Paul Simon’s early forays into World Music – as later taken further in Graceland.

But once again – I digress.

When Australian band The Church recorded their heavier, janglier  version of I am a Rock  I was so happy because it combined one of my favourite bands playing one of my favourite songs!

Later, I found out an S&G connection with another of my favourite artists Billy Bragg. Bragg’s New England started with the lyric “I was 21 years when I wrote this song. I’m 22 now but I won’t be for long”

Bragg was quoting (as was the folkie tradition) another song in this case Simon & Garfunkel’s Leaves That Are Green.

I also have fond memories of listening to S&G while traveling the US on a greyhound bus – looking for America. That’s probably my favourite S&G song.

One of my favourite lyrics is from Kathy’s song:

As I watch the drops of rain weave their weary paths and die.

Alliteration, personification and such exquisite observation.

Thank you Paul Simon – and Mr Bishop!

I’m sure so many people have their own favourite S&G lyrics!

It was my life-long dream come try  to see Simon & Garfunkel live a few years back.  Lots of my music-loving friends (who were more into “heavier and edgier” music) weren’t interested but I went with a friend who was also a big S&G fan.

The music of my generation was the Sex Pistols, The Ramones and The Clash – not Simon & Garfunkel!  Still, I’m not ashamed to declare my love for Simon & Garfunkel – but I DO draw the line at pan pipes and El Condor Pasa!

At the concert I bought the Simon & Garfunkel T-shirt AND even a Simon & Garfunkel tote bag. I take my tote bag to carry all my books and my poetry to protect me!

(thanks to Simon & Garfunkel, I fell in love with language and the power of poetic devices to spread messages and connect with people)

2 thoughts on “What memories do Simon and Garfunkel songs bring back for you?

Leave a Reply

