Why Spock rocks

Mt spocks music from outer space

Why Spock rocks

spock guitar

As a kid, I loved Star Trek (the TV show)  and especially Mr Spock.

He seemed so “cool” – in a smart. logical way.

I also liked the way he seemed impervious to insults,

When you’re a kid the skill of ignoring insults really helps.

Later in life, I loved when as a TV reporter I’d be assigned to do Star Trek stories at sci-fi conventions.

I’d usually end up buying stacks of Star Trek stuff.

startrekmug

My favourite purchase was the Star Trek mug where the characters in the transporter room disappeared when you added hot liquid. I still have it – but usually save it for special occasions!

Warning: I love Spock – but I have lots of terrible recordings of Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner trying to get groovy and sing songs of the time.

(A link to a clip at the end of this post)

OldSpockandNew-Spock

Many of my female friends love the new “sexy Spock”. I still like old Spock and I really enjoyed the recent video of a Challenge between old Spock and new Spock.

Sure – it’s an ad – but I found it a good chuckle and well executed.

Here’s my logical analysis if you are interested!

http://howtohookattention.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/how-spock-can-help-you-hook-attention-for-your-messages-and-help-you-prosper/

At least Leonard Nimoy didn’t sing!

I reckon he has a great sense of humour – he’s just not a great singer. See what you think in this link to a clip.

On a deeper viewing of this clip and listening to this song – I actually dig his sincerity and his expressive range –  the range from groovy to heart-felt patriotism.

Yes, Spock Rocks!

One thought on “Why Spock rocks

Leave a Reply

