What are your memories of The Jam and Paul Weller?

What memories come back to you when you hear the music of The Jam?

the-jam-down-in-the-tube-station-at-midnight-polydor

For me, the music brigs back memories that are a powerful mixture of admiration and angst  – fascination and frustration!

I was blown away by the power and energy of their music and Paul Weller’s songwriting and especially his lyrics.

I was also frustrated that I could never be as cool as Paul – his clothes, his haircut, and his general image.

I played in uni bands trying to get UK indie look.

Egg 2

But I was too ethnic-looking – I looked more like De Niro in his Rupert Pupkin era.

TB egg polo neck

Our band was in Australia – but there were lots of impressionable Jam fans here too.

There was even a bit of a Mod  revival scene – with “Mods” trying to look cool but sweating so much in their Parkas in hot Australia.

You could only wear your parkas comfortably in “winter” – which in Queensland lasted about a week 🙂

I wasn’t cool enough to be a Neo-Mod – but I’ve always liked the Mod music and design – and I still do.

TB cafe parka

I still love wearing my Parka! and my Jam shirt – even in my “responsible dad” years.

The Jam T shirt

What about you? Are you still proud to be a Jam fan?

When I listen to the Jam, it brings back memories of my mates spray-painting the The Jam all around the place.

logo_jam

I was happy for but envious of a mate who got a beautiful shiny Rickenbaker  – that looked just like the type Weller played.

Oh, how I wanted a guitar like that!

Can you relate?

Jam ricks

Actually, both Paul Weller and  bass player Bruce Foxton had  “matching” Ricks! They looked so cool!

I also remember my mate searching through so many Op shops looking for Jam-like  striped jackets.

You can be a bit obsessive when you’re young!

The Jam fashion

This week I’ve been reading and enjoying the book The Modfather – My Life with Paul Weller about a young UK fan’s obsession with The Jam and Paul Weller.

If you’re a Jam and Paul Weller fan –  you’ll dig it –  it’s a fun read.

Modfather

I’ve been listening to lots of Jam music too – and appreciating just how good Weller’s lyrics were. I appreciatehis brilliance now being older.

I now work as a writing coach and trainer.

word nerd CU

If you’re interested in Weller’s lyrics – his songs inspired these posts.

1.How Paul Weller’s lyrics can help you improve your writing – That’s Entertainment

2.Slashed-seat affairs – How Paul Weller uses “anti-adjectives”

3.Down in the tube station at midnight – write like a movies camera from different angles

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

everest

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious  business communication tips and writing. Lots of writing posts!

Twitter 

 

Leave a Reply

