Why we love the early #Cure – how songs are always the same – again and again and again and again!

If you are reading this you are probably a fan of The Cure – and you’ll get the “reference” in the title.

A Forest

 

 

I loved The music of The Cure when they first became famous – and I’ve been listening to them again a lot recently.

 

I’m listening to the Cure as I write this blog – Jumping Someone Elses’s Train.

 

That song includes the lyrics:

 

It’s always the same and again and again and again

 

And in The Forest we hear:

It’s always the same

I’m running towards nothing

Again and again and again and again…and again and again and again and again and again and again….and again.

 

On reflection, I reckon part of The Cure’s success was due to the repetition – repeating musical lines again and again and again and again. There is variety – but there is also a lot of repetition.

Many of the great bass lines or drum rhythms and fills or keyboard lines are so powerful because they are repeated so often.

video-the-cure-a-forest

I once read how Robert Smith didn’t like it when bass players of keyboard players got too fancy or “overplayed”.

He likes it when players played the same basic line again and again and again and again and again – like the keyboard in Play For Today.

At uni I played in bands (as you do). In some bands I played guitar along with very talented drummers who could play in the style of Stewart Copeland from The Police.

 

 

Eugene and the Egg copy copy

 

I also played in an original “indie” band Eugene & The Egg  where I was the drummer.

I was a very, very basic drummer – yet my very basic style seemed to fit the sparse, minimalist music of the times.

I was happy to just keep a basic beat –  the same rhythm again and again and again and again and again.

And that CAN be a good thing.

egg gig 14

 

The guys and I are back playing again –  after living apart in different cities for many decades.

My drumming is still very basic – but in the type of music we do – that’s not a problem. It’s actually an advantage!

The guys seem to like “my restraint” in not over-playing. The truth is I couldn’t over-play even if I wanted to! 🙂

In this case a limitation can be a strength.

 

That’s another reason why I reckon The Cure were so popular – in their early albums they made you feel like you could be in a band – even if your musical skills were very basic.

In our practice space there was this old poster! (from the 80s I believe)

poster cure

Loved The Cure back then. Still do – even more so!

 

 

 

One thought on “Why we love the early #Cure – how songs are always the same – again and again and again and again!

Leave a Reply

