How did you react when you first heard Punk Rock?

Sentimental as Anything

What was your reaction the first time your heard PUNK MUSIC (like the Sex Pistols or  bands of a similar vintage)?

God save the queen

I remember being shocked and excited at the same time. I was visiting “the big smoke” of Brisbane from Cairns on a school drama camp in 1977.

At the time, Australia lagged behind the music trends of the UK.

Queensland lagged behind Australia – and Cairns lagged behind “the big smoke” of Brisbane.

I was still listening to Led Zeppelin and had long hair!

Some other drama “kids” took a photo of the Queen off the wall in a hall and pogo-ed around it to “God Save the Queen”.

This was the first time I’d heard the Sex Pistols! I had been brought up to respect the Queen.

I wanted to grow up to be a Grenadier Guard! Of course I was older than in this photo when I…

View original post 172 more words

Leave a Reply

