Do things like this remind you of a “movie moment”? This was a such great movie!

Do you have moments like this where you relate a current experience to some moment in an old movie you’d seen decades ago. That movie moment must have really made an impact to be remembered after all these years!

 

rowers photo

 

Here’s an example I recently experienced.

I’m waiting for a business meeting and I get to the meeting place early (as I always try to do).

 

I see this old photo of rowers in a frame above a fireplace. I’ve got some time before the meeting. I study the haircuts, the looks in the eyes and the “young man’s pose” of pushing out your bicepts.  Hey, I used to do this too – though I wasn’t quite as buff as  as these young men. 🙂

 

young rower

 

 

Anyway, this photo took me back to a very memorable scene in one of my favourite old movies. See if you can identify it.

 

I had to search and find the actual lines. I had a rough memory of the overall meaning.

I’m so glad the photo inspired me to think of the movies – and the to  search out what the real lines were.

Imagine you are hearing this line as you look at the old photo.

 

rowers photo

 

“They’re not that different from you, are they? Same haircuts. Full of hormones, just like you. Invincible, just like you feel. The world is their oyster. They believe they’re destined for great things, just like many of you, their eyes are full of hope, just like you.”

 

Recognize the movie? Remember the scene?

 

Now, maybe  I am just too impressionable – but let’s just say this photo triggered my memory of this movie moment I’d found and still find inspiring – and that inspired me to truly seize the day.

 

I sincerely hope, this post inspires you to do the same!

young rower

 

“…if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in. Listen, you hear it? – – Carpe – – hear it? – – Carpe, carpe diem, seize the day boys, make your lives extraordinary.”

 

What do you think? Did this movie (Dead Poets Society) inspire you?

 

Does some other movie moment inspire you?

 

Please share in the comments section below.

 

———

 

SAA bgrd

 

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.

@tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, effective e-mail, e-mail overload, cross-cultural communication, better social media engagement etc. I like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

One thought on “Do things like this remind you of a “movie moment”? This was a such great movie!

Leave a Reply

