Something I never thought I’d do – but I took a shine to the old-fashioned shoe shine stand

Sentimental as Anything

The other day I did something I never thought I’d do – but it ended up being fun. It was also the inspiration for I thought was a great idea for winning business and attention.

I was visiting Sydney passing through the  Strand Arcade and I saw one of those old-fashioned shoe shine stands – you know the ones you often see in old American movies.

TB shoe shine

It seemed to be a very “American” thing.

ShoeshineStand

Now, maybe it was my old-school Australian egalitarian spirit – but I always felt reluctant at getting someone else to shine my shoes while I just sat there. I felt guilty and uncomfortable at the idea.

It’s strange – I was OK with getting my shoes taken away and shined as part of a hotel service to prepare for some important business meeting – but the idea of me just sitting there like…

View original post 670 more words

Leave a Reply

